Holy buckets...I think I have been avoiding my blog! I have some time on my hands today (I know scary) so I decided why not give a little life update.

So how did 7 end you ask? It ended let's just say that...the last few experiments were challenging and not as successful as the first few. However..I learned a lot about myself and I care a lot more about others and I learned a lot about wants vs needs...so in my book it was worth it! Thank you Jen Hatmaker...I read your blog often and I am in love with you!

So what have we been up to? it's summer time people! Our June was filled with baseball (when it wasn't raining) and other "stuff" that made us "busy". I was so excited because July was promising our calendar was open, it was going to be a good month...and then it rained the last week of June and we got flooded. I have to say we are very lucky..many people near us had much worse situations then we did..for us it was just annoying and it interfered with our FUN month. But we are working through the mess, back to work on our "projects" and in a couple of short days we leave for a much needed week of Family Camp at Village Creek Bible Camp...I am so ready to love on my man and my kids for 5 days and 5 nights! I am praying for God to work some magic for our family, help us to slow down, step back and enjoy each moment. I am also praying for connections..within our T6 Unit (Troyna 6 family) and connections with new friends.

What else...I am reading 2 books by Lysa Terkeurst "Unglued" (which I plan to finish while on vacay next week) and "Made to Crave" in a Bible Study version with a friend...I am pretty sure this women has a direct link to my brain and knows my every thought..I love how real she is and how much I can relate to both books. This has been good for me this summer...keeping me in the Word. She shared in the "Unglued" book to begin each day with God (something I need work on). She says "Do not check in with the craziness of this world until you've exchanged whispers with God"...so I have challenged myself to read through a chapter of the Bible each morning and pray before I begin my day...I started with Proverbs and am now going through Psalms..it's a just a couple minutes each morning, but is sure makes a difference in my day...this is something easy and quick that anyone can do.

We also created a family "bucket list" for the summer. The kids have had fun making stepping stones, visiting the Grundy Pool, fires with friends and a few other fun things on our list...we have several things to do yet, but we still have a good month of summer before school starts...we'll get there!

So that's about it....not very exciting..but enough to keep us on the move. I will TRY to be more regular about my blogging. I will leave today with a quote that has been on my mind this week..my husband shared it with me from his Sunday School class it goes "If you need something done, find someone who is busy" How true is that...most days I am stressed out because I am so busy...but I am also learning through each day that God created me for this very reason because I thrive on being busy..I love the adventure of a new task or opportunity. This is not an invitation for you to call me and ask me to get something done for you...more a way for me to help all you friends out there understand the crazy person that I am...Thank you God for yet again showing me something about myself that I kind of knew all along but needed to hear it from you! Have a great weekend everyone...can't wait to share about all the fun we have at Family Camp!



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am Jen (mom, wife, sister, daughter, friend and SERVANT). Welcome to my blog. This is where I unload my thoughts and inspirations! I recently asked several of my friends and family to describe me in one word and this is what I got....ORGANIZED (#1), Dependable (#2), Honest, Sincere, Genuine, Thoughtful, Energetic, Stylish (not sure agree with this one), and one word that I actually do agree with...UNSETTLED! I am always searching for something it seems, one thing I do know for sure is that I am a child of God and no matter what I search for here on earth....my search will end one day when I meet my Saviour face to face in Heaven. So enjoy the blog....I hope you find the descriptions of me to be true...there are probably a few that weren't submitted that are also true...welcome to me!

    Archives

    July 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013