Well I wish I could say that I made it through the first 2 weeks of 7 without a flaw, but I am  a sinner, I am full of flaws and I didn't quite make it through the entire 14 days without cheating once (or twice). But I did learn a few lessons. First, I learned that I am able to sacrifice if I put my mind and heart to it. Second, I learned that I actually like eating healthier, it's a definite challenge, but does have it's rewards. I dropped 5 lbs, I feel better and I GAVE UP COFFEE...I am on day two of the next focus group and I haven't desired for coffee yet. I hope that I have outgrown that crutch...please continue to pray for strength in this area. Finally, I learned that I am not all that inspired by food. I do hurt for the children everywhere that go hungry everyday. I wish I could do more to help them. I feel kind of helpless really. I don't have the resources I wish I did to give in the ways they need. What I do have is a more thankful heart for the fact that my own children don't have to go hungry. While I may not be able to provide for other children around the world, God has blessed us enough to take care of our own family right here. So am I broken in this area, maybe not...but I am certainly blessed and thankful.
As I said, we started the Clothes mission on Sunday. We will, for the next 14 days, wear just 7 articles of clothing, including shoes, but not including undergarments and socks. I'll be honest it was a difficult process for me to pick just 7 things. I definitely have sin in this area. I'm and just 2 days in and I've already realized how much effort and focus I put into what I wear each day, I am almos t ashamed. My closet may get significantly reduced after these 2 weeks. I may be disgusted in myself but I have a feeling that God is going to start my breaking process with this challenge....keep praying!!
Thank goodness for Christian music! I have been listening to Matthew West lately, there is a song on his new CD called "Do Something"....this is my new theme song. I have decided that whenever I get sidetracked with my sin on this journey, I will first pray and second...pull out the Matthew West CD...I hope it inspires you as much as it has inspired me!



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am Jen (mom, wife, sister, daughter, friend and SERVANT). Welcome to my blog. This is where I unload my thoughts and inspirations! I recently asked several of my friends and family to describe me in one word and this is what I got....ORGANIZED (#1), Dependable (#2), Honest, Sincere, Genuine, Thoughtful, Energetic, Stylish (not sure agree with this one), and one word that I actually do agree with...UNSETTLED! I am always searching for something it seems, one thing I do know for sure is that I am a child of God and no matter what I search for here on earth....my search will end one day when I meet my Saviour face to face in Heaven. So enjoy the blog....I hope you find the descriptions of me to be true...there are probably a few that weren't submitted that are also true...welcome to me!

    Archives

    July 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013